“I know…”

Question 1: LDS often say ?I know that??, and I have not heard that from other people of faith?is it uniquely an LDS thing to so commonly have members say ?I know???

Question 2: Has God revealed to you the truth about Christ?s divinity the same way He revealed it to Peter? If so, please elucidate. If not, please explain.

Isaiah 52: 6 Therefore my people shall know my name: therefore they shall know in that day that I am he that doth speak: behold, it is I.

John 17: 3 And this is life eternal, that they might know thee the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom thou hast sent.

Moroni 10:5 And by the power of the Holy Ghost ye may know the truth of all things.

Know: v. knew, (n , ny ) known, (n n) knowing, knows v. tr.
1. To perceive directly; grasp in the mind with clarity or certainty.
2. To regard as true beyond doubt: I know she won’t fail.
3. To have a practical understanding of, as through experience; be skilled in: knows how to cook.
4. To have fixed in the mind: knows her Latin verbs.
5. To have experience of: ?a black stubble that had known no razor? (William Faulkner).
6. a. To perceive as familiar; recognize: I know that face. b. To be acquainted with: He doesn’t know his neighbors.

Jesus asked Peter, ?Whom do you say that I am.? Peter said, ?Thou art the Christ, the Son of God.? Jesus then said, ?Blessed art thou, Simon Bar Jonas, for flesh and blood hath not revealed that to you, but my Father which is in Heaven (meaning, via The Spirit or Holy Ghost.)?

This is extremely informative and very critical to understand. Here is Christ telling Peter how Peter came to ?know? that Jesus is whom he claims to be, namely, ?Thou art the Christ, the Son of God.?

Jesus did not say, ?Well, Peter, you know because you witnessed first hand 3 years of miracles, visions, raising the dead, living with with me, listen to me??. Good as that ?evidence? was, Peter?s knowing did not come from direct observation.

Peter had a better source of ?evidence? than direct observation of Jesus? life and miracles. God The Father ?revealed? to his mind, soul, heart, and spirit that in fact, Jesus was indeed The Christ. The Father sent the Spirit, or the Holy Ghost which told Peter undeniably, ?Peter, Jesus is the very Christ prophesied since the beginning of the world. Peter, he is The Way, The Truth, The Light, your Lord and Redeemer, and no man can come to me (The Father) expect through my Son, Jesus The Christ!?

Then and only then, did Peter ?know.?

Likewise, the spiritual witness from the Holy Ghost is our only way to ?know? Jesus is The Christ. The ancient records we call scriptures are insufficient to bring the same level of knowing that Peter enjoyed.

Have you ever said or thought or asked yourself the following, ?I wish I could have lived to observe or see Jesus with my own eyes, to hear him, to watch him do some miracle, then it might be different, then perhaps I?d ?know? whether he was real or myth, man of Son of God, only then could I believe or trust?? That?s 100% incorrect.

The ?proof? comes when God reveals Himself to you, just like he revealed Himself to Peter via the Holy Ghost.

Anyone can have the same experience and the same level of ?evidence? or ?proof? that Peter, James, John, Noah, Moses, and Joseph Smith did that Jesus is the Christ.

You can and need to have a personal revelation born of the Spirt/Holy Ghost on the matter like unto Peter. If not, you cannot truly know Jesus, who is "the Christ, the Son of God.?

Tags: , , , ,

Powered by Qumana

Posted on February 13, 2006, in Mormonism/LDS Church. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

