Gladys Knight Tells Of Church’s Release From Segregation

A Star Act Helps Unite The Faithful With Song:

Knight led her 100-member choir, Saints Unified Voices, and preached to 3,000 people during two services over the weekend at the Suitland Stake Center, headquarters for 12 Mormon congregations in the District and Southern Maryland. The choir won Best Gospel Choir Album in February at the 48th Annual Grammy Awards.

“I am pressed so surely in my spirit to give you my testimony,” said Knight, telling the crowd about her conversion from the Baptist Church to the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in 1997. “They thought I was crazy. They thought that I had lost my mind. ‘What are you doing over there with those Mormons? They don’t like black people.’ Yes, when I came to this church, I asked, ‘Do y’all like black people or not?’ “

Technorati : ,

Posted on May 23, 2006, in Mormonism/LDS Church. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

