Church Is the Second-Fastest Growing Religion in the United States

Newsroom.lds.org

SALT LAKE CITY – The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is the second-fastest growing church in the United States, according to the 2006 Yearbook of American and Canadian Churches, published by the National Council of Churches.

The Church reached 12,560,869 members worldwide at the end of 2005, with 5,690,672 in the United States. …[Read more]


Technorati : ,

Posted on July 22, 2006, in Mormonism/LDS Church. Bookmark the permalink. 23 Comments.

  1. Great! Even if we were the slowest growing, I’d still stick around!! Is there a link to the actual article, rather than just the homepage? My guess is that the Seventh Day Adventists or the Jehovah’s Witnesses were fastest growing. Just throwing that out there…

  2. 1st is Assemblies of God, or so I’m told:

    http://journals.aol.com/kingbing1/FortiFi/entries/1366

  3. The fastest growing is Islam. So Mormons would be the fastest growing Christian religion.

  4. richie angeles

    Good news for all! I havent thought of who is the no.1 fastest growing church. All I know is that by their fruits we shall know the thruthfulness of the gospel and I am grateful to be a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints.

  5. Mary Jo. Boyer

    This is a great example of the missionary work taking place all over the world within the LDS church. The gospel is being preached to many people, and they’re responding in a marvelous way. I feel very blesses to be a member of this church.

  6. I was just baptized into the LDS church 6 days ago after being raised as a Jehovah’s Witness my whole life, and I’m 20 years old. I love this church and I feel so close to God now, it’s incredible. I heard afterwards that this is the fastest growing religion, which is amazing. Aaron I really don’t think JW’s are the fastest growing, hope that doen’t sound rude but I’ve been part of them before and their message doesn’t get across to people very pleasantly.

  7. I came from the born agains and joined the church after a year study of all the Christian churchs available. After 36 years in the church, I can say that I love this church and the Lord who is at its head. The Spirit is strong here. I have so many experiances with the Spirit.

  8. Okay. Two problems are converging here.
    #1. Islam is the fastest growing and for all those in the bleachers out there, get a clue about the theology there.
    #2. As the times of the gentiles are fulfilled there is a striking slowing down of successful missionary labor, with a closing of all missions.
    The membership roles will slow as we approach this time period. If you look at the growth of the church in the past decade, you may see the beginning of this fulfillment.

  9. Richard Alan Stanley

    I have been a member since 1972 and was a Baptist among others with casual attendance. I have had my own personal revelation That The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is true through my persona dreams coming true. Love to all, Richard Alan

  10. this message is to Gnosis, and I would just like to say that I have been a member all of my life, and this church has NEVER been this successful in spreading the word of God than it has been in these past few years. There are over 52,000 full time missionaries throughout the world serving two year missions. That’s all I’d like to say.

  11. Lawanda Lutz

    I just saw a PBS special on Morman’s history to present day. Joseph Smith was an interesting, to say the least, person of his day. Whatever happened to the golden tablets he found and later had transcribed?

  12. john p Stiller

    So what The church of Jesus Christ of Latter day Saints is what it says it is. Its intentions and teachings are only good. I am a better person now than if I had not joined the church 36 years ago. The church will be recognised by good people for what it is and what it dose. Even people that are unrightous enjoy a good cake, the chuch is a good cake, it can feed the unrightous too and will grow accordingly. A good feed a good read and now is the time for it to grow and lead the peoples of the earth to the truth a well fed plant must grow the church is well fed and is growing it can not fail to do so and must fill the earth membership numbers are growing and will continue to do so

  13. @Lawanda – You can read what was on the gold plates by reading “The Book of Mormon”. The plates themselves were, after they had been translated, taken by the Angel who showed him where they were in the first place. That kind of sucks as it would be nice to be able to go see the plates in some archive somewhere, but then the gospel of Christ has always been about believing first and then seeing rather than seeing first and then believing.

    I have read the Book of Mormon many times and most of the Bible too (the Old Testament is cool, but difficult for me to get through sometimes 🙂 and I know that they both come from God based on my own pondering and comparing them and based on the witness I received in my heart about 13 years ago (and many times since then). Read it and pray to know if it’s truly from God and if you sincerely want to know the truth, you’ll receive an answer.

  14. Mary Collinson

    The Assemblies of God is the fastest growing Christian Church and fastest in the US at 1.81 %. Reference http://www.ncccusa.org/news/060330yearbook1.html

  15. Mary Collinson

    There are many Christians in the world that feel the spirit every day, are strong in their religion and are better people for it. The LDS Church does not have a market on that corner.

    As far as missionary work goes, the number of converts per missionary has declined since the early 1990s. You would think it would increase. In my mission they rewarded raw number baptisms and still do. This explains inactivity.

    This will continue to happen as long as the LSD Church continues to try and support and promote the “fastest growing church” ideology, rather than just accepting what they are, a good Christian church with good members. No better or worse than anyone else.

  16. Wow. Yes it would only make sense that the truthfulness of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints would be commensurate with its rapidly growing membership. But numbers dont matter. Its about reading, praying, and finding out for yourself that the church is true. I know. And you can too.

  17. Amen. I am a Proud member of The Church Of Jesus Chris of Latter-day Saints (the #1 misunderstood religion out there)!

  18. Perumal Nagapushnam

    I have been a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Days Saints for 23year and I have been tremendously been blessed again and again, for I know it is a great and a true church.

  19. Perumal Nagapushnam

    I have been a member the LDS church for 23 years and have been blessed for I know it is a true church. nothing secret but sacred.

  20. Excellent thread! I am currently serving a Mission with my wife – we were converted in England 37 years ago. How many times do I tell the missionaries we are not looking for people – we are looking for people who are looking! Bless all the other Faiths – if they are happy with them GOOD! Slowing down, measuring success per missionary – I don’t think this is very good science but I am looking to make the difference to the ‘one’ and there are so many ‘ones’ here in the Far East (wait until China opens up!).
    The AoG (Assembly of God) is not a Church, it is a conglomerate of Pentecostal congregations who shelter under the ‘broad brush’ title – their membership is literally a ‘broad church’ – believe what you like as long as… We know we have met many. No disrespect as they strive hard – it is a shame they are so against LDS. What is it that raises such passion?

  21. well technically, we are the third fastest according to that list, but honestly that doesn’t even matter. but that list doesn’t account for international membership, i don’t think most people claim the church is the fastest growing church in the U.S. but one of the fastest growing in the world for sure

  22. way cool! althoguh i heard the church was the fastest growing religion, i think thats still really awesome!

    called to serve him, heavenly king of glory
    chosen heir to witness for his name
    far and wide we tell the fathers story
    far and wide his love proclaim!

    this is a great example of missionary work, so great job to all you missinaries out there!

  23. We LDS Church is not fastest growing religion neither fastest growing Christian religion. So, what?
    Obviously which religion is “the fastest growing” is not relevant.
    This matter in not only meaningless but very harmful. Why? In the past times when the Church was really “fastest growing” this was the reason many members to stay inactive in their duties to be missionaries and most of them thinking – “All is well, we are the fastest growing…why should I go and testify the truth. The Church can grow without me…”
    This “marketing” makes a very bad favor for all of us!

    Sofia, Bulgaria

Leave a Reply

