Deeyah, the Muslim Madonna

Deeyah is a Muslim singer born in Norway who is speaking out against oppression of Women in Muslim culture. Her womens rights advocacy takes on issues from the burka to honor killings. This brave Women deserves our support.

Deeyah’s home page

YouTube – interviews and some music vids

Breaking this wall of silence

Freemuse hands the microphone to Deeyah – a Muslim pop singer and an activist with a serious message. She has placed herself in the crossfire of today’s most controversial, religious issues

I have always experienced prejudice and discrimination for being a woman, for being Muslim and for not being white. I think these issues cannot be solved without reform from within my own community first. I hope that I can address and articulate some of these issues both through my music as well as through other forms of expression – such as writing, short films, and documentaries as well as through general activism within the community. I hope to see Muslim women claiming their rightful place within society without any fears of judgment, discrimination or violence.

I come from a culture of fear and silence. Everyone within my own community knows about the abuse and mistreatment of women, but no one says anything. …[Read more]


Technorati : , , , , ,

Posted on August 20, 2006, in Islamism. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thank you for sharing this. This is how you best change a repressive people. Through soft power such as this. I wish her all the best.

Leave a Reply

